Catalog

Record Details

Catalog Search



A garden of marvels : how we discovered that flowers have sex, leaves eat air, and other secrets of plants / Ruth Kassinger.

Available copies

  • 12 of 12 copies available at NC Cardinal.

Current holds

0 current holds with 12 total copies.

Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Status Due Date
Etowah Branch 580.92 K (Text) 33258007300572 Adult Nonfiction Available -
Fines Creek Library 580.92 Kassinger (Text) 33115007450528 Adult Nonfiction Available -
Fletcher Branch 580.92 K (Text) 33258007300564 Adult Nonfiction Available -
Haywood County Main Library 580.92 Kassinger (Text) 33115007520916 Adult Nonfiction Available -
Henderson Main Branch 580.92 K (Text) 33258007300556 Adult Nonfiction Available -
Macon County Public Library 580.92 K (Text) 39493107649156 Adult Nonfiction Available -
North Asheville Library 580.92 KAS (Text) 0020510176975 Adult Nonfiction Available -
Oakley/South Asheville Library 580.92 KAS (Text) 0020510176967 Adult Nonfiction Available -
Pack Memorial Library 580.92 KAS (Text) 0020510147455 Adult Nonfiction Available -
Public Library of Johnston County and Smithfield 580.92 Kas (Text) 38950610748644 Adult Nonfiction Available -
Next 10 »

Record details

  • ISBN: 9780062048998
  • ISBN: 0062048996
  • ISBN: 9780062049018
  • ISBN: 0062049011
  • Physical Description: xviii, 395 pages : illustrations ; 22 cm
  • Edition: First edition.
  • Publisher: New York : William Morrow, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers, [2014]

Content descriptions

Bibliography, etc. Note:
Includes bibliographical references (pages [368]-379) and index.
Formatted Contents Note:
Pt. I. Inside a plant -- Cocktail, anyone? -- The birth and long life of the vegetable lamb -- Through a glass, however darkly -- The persecuted professor -- Inside a plant -- Pt. II. Roots -- Restless roots -- The enormous gourd -- The way of all water -- How to kill a hickory -- Our fine fungal friends -- Arsenic and young fronds -- The once and future wheat -- Off to the races -- Pt. III. Leaves -- New beginnings -- A momentous mint -- Leaves eat air -- The vegetable slug -- Once in a blue-green moon -- The tenacity of trees -- Amazing grass -- Pt. IV. Flowers -- Sex in the garden -- Who needs Romeo? -- Black petunias -- The abominable mystery -- Cheap sex -- Scent and sex -- Pt. V. Onward, upward, and afterward -- Trouble in paradise -- Onward and upward -- Afterward.
Summary, etc.:
"In the tradition of The Botany of Desire and Wicked Plants, the author of Paradise Under Glass gives us a witty and engaging history of the first botanists interwoven with stories of today's extraordinary plants found in the garden and the lab"--Provided by publisher.
Subject: Kassinger, Ruth, 1954- > Anecdotes.
Women gardeners > United States > Anecdotes.
Botanists > United States > Anecdotes.
Botany > Humor.
Genre: Autobiographies.
Anecdotes.
Humor.

Additional Resources